Hydrogen Technology Cluster Australia (H2TCA)

NERA has formed a network of hydrogen technology clusters across Australia, providing seed-funding in partnership with governments and industry to build the skills, capability and commercialisation opportunities in the emerging hydrogen industry.

NERA is facilitating connections and knowledge sharing between the cluster network to lead the formation and early development of an overarching industry-led Australian Hydrogen Technology Cluster — Hydrogen Technology Cluster Australia (H2TCA) — that will expedite rapid development of the hydrogen supply chain and drive market activation, establishing a global identity and recognised brand for Australian hydrogen technology and expertise.

The H2TCA aims to accelerate the hydrogen supply chain development by enabling vital connection, collaboration, and alignment of action across Australia. The cluster network reduces duplication and identifies gaps in the development, deployment, and commercialisation of new hydrogen-focussed technologies.

Cluster locations and contact details

The interactive map below provides a location-specific guide to Australia's hydrogen clusters.

State/territory Cluster name Cluster leads/members
ACT ACT Renewable Hydrogen Cluster Evoenergy, ACT Renewables Hub, Australian National University, ACT Government, Hydrogen Australia, Smart Energy Council
NSW NewH2 - Hunter Hydrogen Technology Cluster The University of Newcastle Australia and 14 partners
NT Northern Territory Hydrogen Technology Cluster (NTH2) Darwin Innovation Hub along with NT Government, Energy Club NT and Charles Darwin University (CDU)
QLD Central Queensland Hydrogen Ecosystem Cluster (CQH2) Gladstone Engineering Alliance and Gladstone Regional Council, Gladstone Ports Corporation, Central Queensland University, Department of State Development, Regional Development Australia and Start up Gladstone.
North Queensland Hydrogen Consortium (NQH2) Led by Townsville Enterprise Limited and is guided by a Steering Committee
Queensland Hydrogen Industry Cluster (H2Q) Regional Development Australia Brisbane, on behalf of 38 organisations
TSBE Hydrogen Industry Cluster Toowoomba and Surat Basin Enterprise (TSBE)
SA Hydrogen Technology Cluster (SA-H2H) EfficientSee Pty Ltd and Mumford Commercial
TAS Bell Bay Hydrogen Technology Cluster Bell Bay Advanced Manufacturing Zone (BBAMZ)
VIC Gippsland Hydrogen Cluster Committee for Gippsland on behalf of 64 supporting organisations
Clayton Hydrogen Technology Cluster (Clayton H2) GrapheneX, CSIRO, Swinburne University, Hydrogen 2.0, Cleantech Japan, ARENA2036
Greater Geelong Hydrogen Cluster Startupbootcamp
Mallee Hydrogen Technology Cluster Mallee Regional Innovation Centre
WA Gascoyne Hydrogen Technology Cluster Carnarvon Chamber of Commerce
Mid-West Hydrogen Technology Cluster Mid West Chamber of Commerce
Pilbara Hydrogen Cluster City of Karratha with support from Yara Pilbara Fertilisers
Perth and Peel Hydrogen Cluster Murdoch University and six partners
Western Australian Technology Cluster for Hydrogen (WATCH2) Hydrogen Society of Australia on behalf of consortium

"These regional clusters, all of which have the support of their state and territory governments, have been established around key, existing hydrogen projects and technology supply chains in strategic locations that have a demonstrated capacity to support them. This will ensure long-term local cohesion and sustainable capability across the emerging hydrogen value chain."

Miranda Taylor, NERA CEO


NERA implemented the Regional Hydrogen Technology Clusters Program to help build the skills, capacities and commercialisation opportunities necessary to unlock Australia’s enormous potential to create a globally competitive hydrogen industry that could add up to $26 billion and thousands of jobs to the national economy by 2050.

In November 2019, the Council for Australian Governments (COAG) released the National Hydrogen Strategy, which detailed the development of a national cluster, to be led by NERA.

The Regional Hydrogen Technology Clusters Program continues NERA’s strong track record of facilitating and funding the formation and development of two industry-led, energy related clusters — a subsea oil and gas cluster (Subsea Innovation Cluster Australia (SICA)) and an ocean energy cluster (Australian Ocean Energy Group (AOEG).

In February and March 2020, NERA held 11 workshops across Australia, consulting with almost 300 hydrogen industry professionals and interested stakeholders. A summary of the outcomes from the consultation process can be accessed here or via the link below.

In September 2020, NERA called for expressions of interest (EOIs) to the Regional Hydrogen Technology Clusters Seed Funding Program from businesses and consortiums with a clear focus on commercial outcomes, that demonstrated a commitment and capability to establish and/or grow a hydrogen technology cluster in a specified region within Australia. EOIs closed in October 2020.

In February 2021, NERA announced an investment of $1.85M from NERA, state governments and industry in 13 hydrogen clusters across all Australian states and territories.

In May 2021, NERA and the Queensland Government announced a commitment of $100,000 to support two additional hydrogen technology clusters in Gladstone and Toowoomba, bringing the total of regional clusters to 15 across Australia.

In September 2021, the South Australian Government announced a $100,000 contribution to SA-H2H, matching NERA’s six-figure seeding contribution.

The investment to date from NERA, state governments and industry across the 15 hydrogen technology clusters in the network is $2.165M.

Media Release

Access the official media release announcing the $1.85M in funding.

Consultation summary

View this consultation summary for an outline of findings from NERA's Stakeholder Consultation workshops held in March 2020.

H2TCA brochure

Access our latest H2TCA brochure to find out more about the cluster network.