Our Board

Meet our Board members

The NERA executive team is governed by a board of industry experts to help drive projects that achieve the goals of improving collaboration, innovation, efficiencies, workforce skills and industry-led research to benefit the whole energy ecosystem in Australia.

The Board includes representatives with diverse industry experience and domain knowledge across oil, gas, coal seam gas, uranium and coal. It includes representatives from Western Australia and Queensland with experience drawn from major international operators, the research sector, and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

Ken Fitzpatrick, Chair

Ken Fitzpatrick brings over 30 years' experience in the oil and gas industry in Australia and overseas, holding a range of senior positions responsible for development, and production. Ken was CEO of PTTEP Australasia from 2011 to 2014 and has worked in senior positions in Ampolex, Mobil, Nexen and Woodside. He is a past WA State Chairman for Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association (APPEA) and was a member of the APPEA Montara/Macondo Task Force Steering Committee.

Erica Smyth, Non-Executive Director

Erica Smyth has over 30 years' experience in minerals exploration, project approvals and corporate affairs in the minerals and oil and gas sectors with BHP and Woodside. She has a further 10 years experience as a Non-Executive Director in a number of ASX, private, government and NFP organisations. She is currently Deputy Chairman of Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) and a Non-Executive Director of Emeco Holdings and the Deep Exploration Technologies CRC. She is also the co-founder and Chairman of the Mega Data Cluster WA data analytics cross-sector networking group.

Prof. Andrew Garnett, Non-Executive Director

Andrew Garnett is Professor and Director of onshore gas research at the University of Queensland's (UQ) Centre for Coal Seam Gas as well as Director of Carbon Capture and Storage within the UQ Energy Initiative. He has over 25 years' international experience in senior technical, management and executive roles in the upstream oil and gas sector, including with Shell and Schlumberger. Prior to moving into academia in 2012, he was the CEO and Project Director for the final stages of ZeroGen, a company investigating large scale, low emissions coal-fired power, which was funded by the Queensland and Federal governments and by the Australian Coal Association through the Coal21 Fund (low emissions technology).

Tony Nunan, Non-Executive Director

Tony Nunan is Managing Director of QGC based in Brisbane. Tony holds degrees in Land Resource Science from the University of Queensland and Law from the University of New England. Tony joined QGC in 2008 as Legal Counsel just prior to the company's acquisition by BG Group. In 2009, he was appointed General Manager - Land and Community with responsibility for negotiating land access and native title rights and then Vice President Asset Management managing assets and business interests within the QCLNG project. In December 2013 he was appointed BG Group Vice President Operations. Tony is a member of the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association's Queensland Industry Leadership Group.

Pia Turcinov, Non-Executive Director

Pia Turcinov is based in Perth and brings 25 years' experience within the public and private sectors, spanning a diverse range of industry segments. As a long-time commercial advisor, facilitator and innovation broker, Pia offers a deep knowledge of the innovation eco-system and the pathways available to industry and SMEs to commercialise innovations and build capacity within the supply chain of the oil and gas and resources sector. Pia is currently a facilitator with the Australian Government's Entrepreneurs' Programme, and holds board positions with Women in Technology WA and Regional Development Australia (Perth).

Bruce Denney, Non-Executive Director

Bruce has over 40 years of experience in the coal industry both within Australia and overseas, having worked variously as a mine site general manager, ASX listed company COO and as an independent consultant. He has particular expertise in mine operations, technical marketing, research, project development and stakeholder management. Bruce is currently a Director of ACA Low Emissions Technology (ACALET) and Australian National Low Emissions Coal Research and Development (ANLEC). He has degrees in Engineering and Business Management and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.