Australian Hydrogen Technology Clusters

NERA has formed a network of hydrogen technology clusters across Australia, providing seed-funding in partnership with governments and industry to build the skills, capability and commercialisation opportunities in the emerging hydrogen industry.

NERA is facilitating connections and knowledge sharing between the cluster network to lead the formation and early development of an overarching industry-led Australian Hydrogen Technology Cluster that will expedite rapid development of the hydrogen supply chain and drive market activation, establishing a global identity and recognised brand for Australian hydrogen technology and expertise.

The Australian Hydrogen Technology Cluster aims to accelerate the hydrogen supply chain development by enabling vital connection, collaboration, and alignment of action across Australia. The cluster network reduces duplication and identifies gaps in the development, deployment, and commercialisation of new hydrogen-focussed technologies.

Cluster locations and contact details

The interactive map below provides a location-specific guide to Australia's hydrogen clusters.

State/territory Cluster name Cluster leads/members
ACT ACT Renewable Hydrogen Cluster Evoenergy, ACT Renewables Hub, Australian National University, ACT Government, Hydrogen Australia, Smart Energy Council
NSW Hunter Hydrogen Technology Cluster University of Newcastle & 14 partners
NT NTH2 - Northern Territory Hydrogen Technology Cluster Darwin Innovation Hub along with NT Govt, Energy Club NT and CDU
QLD H2Q - Queensland Hydrogen Industry Cluster Regional Development Australia Brisbane, on behalf of 38 organisations
SA SA-H2H Hydrogen Technology Cluster EfficientSee Pty Ltd and Mumford Commercial
TAS Bell Bay Hydrogen Technology Cluster Bell Bay Advanced Manufacturing Zone (BBAMZ)
VIC Gippsland Hydrogen Cluster Committee for Gippsland on behalf of 64 supporting organisations
Clayton Hydrogen Technology Cluster GrapheneX, CSIRO, Swinburne, Hydrogen 2.0, Cleantech Japan, ARENA2036
Greater Geelong Hydrogen Technology Cluster Startupbootcamp
Mallee Hydrogen Technology Cluster Mallee Regional Innovation Centre
WA Western Australian Technology Cluster for Hydrogen (WATCH2) Hydrogen Society of Australia on behalf of consortium
Karratha Hydrogen Technology Cluster City of Karratha with support from Yara Pilbara Fertilisers
Perth and Peel Technology Cluster Murdoch University (Lead), City of Mandurah (Cluster Management) and 5 partners

"These regional clusters, all of which have the support of their state and territory governments, have been established around key, existing hydrogen projects and technology supply chains in strategic locations that have a demonstrated capacity to support them. This will ensure long-term local cohesion and sustainable capability across the emerging hydrogen value chain."

Miranda Taylor, NERA CEO


NERA implemented the Regional Hydrogen Technology Clusters Program to help build the skills, capacities and commercialisation opportunities necessary to unlock Australia’s enormous potential to create a globally competitive hydrogen industry that could add up to $26 billion and thousands of jobs to the national economy by 2050.

In November 2019, the Council for Australian Governments (COAG) released the National Hydrogen Strategy, which detailed the development of a national cluster, to be led by NERA.

The Regional Hydrogen Technology Clusters Program continues NERA’s strong track record of facilitating and funding the formation and development of two industry-led, energy related clusters — a subsea oil and gas cluster (Subsea Innovation Cluster Australia (SICA)) and an ocean energy cluster (Australian Ocean Energy Group (AOEG).

In February and March 2020, NERA held 11 workshops across Australia, consulting with almost 300 hydrogen industry professionals and interested stakeholders. A summary of the outcomes from the consultation process can be accessed here or via the link below.

In September 2020, NERA called for expressions of interest (EOIs) to the Regional Hydrogen Technology Clusters Seed Funding Program from businesses and consortiums with a clear focus on commercial outcomes, that demonstrated a commitment and capability to establish and/or grow a hydrogen technology cluster in a specified region within Australia. EOIs closed in October 2020.

Announcement of a $1.85M investment from NERA, state governments and industry in 13 hydrogen clusters across all Australian states and territories.

Media Release

Access the official media release announcing the $1.85M in funding.

Consultation summary

View this consultation summary for an outline of findings from NERA's Stakeholder Consultation workshops held in March 2020.

Presentation: Hydrogen Clusters

View NERA CEO Miranda Taylor's presentation at the AOG Energy industry Supply Forum.